A pirate box inspired wall hanging

Evening everyone. Just a brief post today as the heat got to me … I fell asleep. However, I did manage to draw out the outline for a wall hanging in air-vanishing fabric marker when I returned from a city trip.
Frustrating. Why is it that half the shops are shut today and it’s not even a Bank Holiday? I ended up sketching a cardboard lunchbox, which had a skull and crossbones on it while I drank a cup of coffee!
I realise it’s Monday, but even the shops that we open were run by grumpy people. I approached one guy to have a look around his gallery and he had a huge pile of adverts on display about changing exhibitions. I enquired about his rates and he said they’d stopped doing that and to try another gallery. When I asked where the gallery was, he replied ‘next to the sweet shop’. I gave him a blank look. I don’t come here often enough to know where a sweet shop is and it is a city! He then referred to Subway. Majority of cities have more than one. I shrugged again. He mentioned another place I’d never heard of and offered no directions. I went for a walk and eventually found it next to a huge church (obviously not a pub man or a religious man). Guess what? It was closed!
The wall hanging (a commission) was a challenge as Nikon thought it was a great game to chase the nib of the pen across the fabric. Fortunately there are no claw marks! I checked.
I stitched the top and bottom tunnels on my machine for two long pieces of dowel to slide through. This is to make the hanging easier and give the fabric a bit of weight.
I’ve made a start on the stitching around each shape, which I’m trying to finish before the pen marks vanish, and will show you the next stage later.

20140721-211717-76637854.jpg

20140721-211833-76713193.jpg
Nikon, even at one point, launched herself at my legs as she saw a loose thread while I was sat at the sewing machine. When I moved her, she found my notebook and began playing wiith the attached ribbon!

9 thoughts on “A pirate box inspired wall hanging

  1. Looking good and I’m sure Nikon wanted to help and keep you smiling. My two walk in front of the screen or over the keyboard when I am on the computer. One loves to lie in my arms as I type.

    1. Thanks Sheila. Cats really love to get in the way. This one likes to watch TV too and sits right in front of the screen bobbing the glass. It’s so funny! 🙂

Leave a comment