New craft: Decopatch

Craft 12/365 Decopatch Snail

For the past week I’ve been driving home in the dark when all the shops are shut apart from the petrol station and supermarkets, however, this didn’t stop me noticing a new craft shop tucked in to the side of a shopping complex. What caught my eye was the large giraffe in the window, but the shop was always closed by the time I drove up to the traffic lights.

My youngest daughter always likes to know in advance of the weekend if we have any plans to go anywhere. I suggested we check out the new craft store together. Inevitably, my eldest daughter also wanted to come along, particularly as she is off to Spain to live for the next four months as part of her third year university degree course. So, yesterday in glorious sunshine, we took to the roads and travelled twelve miles into the next county; we managed to see that flooded fields had been mostly reduced to soggy grass and mud, although one field next to a double hump back bridge still had a decent sized rain lake waiting to greet the local wildlife.

The craft store was indeed open on Saturday. Both my daughters were engrossed within seconds of entering, while my son headed off to take photographs near the railway where there were at least ten pairs of shoes strung over branches in one tree, shoe laces tied together and silhouetted against the blue January sky.

I chose the last snail in the shop to try out Decopatch. On the other hand, my two daughters opted for a Scottish terrier (one larger than the other). We were advised to use the glue on sale rather than PVA as it contains a varnish and is apparently tougher. The assistant said she’d decopatched a number of items including a pair of shoes and a mirror.

The range of papers included Russian doll patterns, sweets, black and white and tartan to name a few. They were attractive, but expensive. Instead, we made the decision to find an alternative for covering the moulded shapes, so headed off to explore the other shops and bought several sheets of tissue paper instead from a greeting card shop.

20140112-115215.jpg

20140112-115227.jpg

Looking at my plain snail, I started to consider textures and chose to use bright green knitting wool so the shell had ridges once I’d added layers of tissue paper. I ripped spotty tissue papers into small pieces just as you would for papier mâché and applied glue on the snail mould and on top of the stripes.

20140112-120122.jpg

20140112-183806.jpg

Leave a Reply

