Zebra Ring

Craft 24/365 shrinkie zebra ring

A ring my son bought me for my birthday sadly lost its stone yesterday. So until I have time to trek 12 miles for a decent jewellery store and replace the stone, I made myself a ring using shrink plastic and my favourite Sharpie permanent pens.

Zebras remind my of my daughter who has moved abroad for a few months, hence the choice of subject matter. She painted a five foot tall mural of a zebra on my living room wall once and nicknamed him Ernie. When she started an advanced art course, the zebras faded and in place arrived the birds. And the fascination grew…

There is quite a knack at moulding the shrink plastic – you only have a matter of seconds before the plastic becomes hard. However, if the first attempt at getting the size right fails, all is not lost as you can just heat the plastic up again and it becomes malleable.

20140124-200853.jpg

20140124-200907.jpg

20140124-200918.jpg

20140124-200924.jpg

Leave a Reply

