Drawing with Fire aka Pyrography

Craft 64/365
March 5th 2014 Pyrographic tile, biscuits and sweets

It takes some getting used to the way a pyrography tool handles. First, it’s getting used to weight and position or angle, then it’s understanding how it reacts to the grain in the wood that you are ‘drawing’ on.

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

As mentioned earlier today, I promised some drawing with ‘fire’.  My husband bought me a pyrography kit which I’ve been eager to use; the decent supply of wood cut to the size I needed for ‘burning biscuits and sweets’ arrived yesterday and I had to prepare them with outline drawings!
‘Fatless fancies’ are what I’ve been asked to make (inbetween completing a commission for a shop wall hanging). The Fatless fancies refer to food items that you can’t eat, so you can’t put on weight and are for a March charity craft fayre in aid of Children’s Hospice – this will include my cupcake pin cushions, giant Jammy Dodger pillows, keyrings, purses and pendants.

Jammy Dodgers
To my frustration, the pyrography box was cable-tied and the end cut off at the join. You needed a knife to get into it. Using a phrase my mother frequently uses when she tries to unsuccessfully open an item and blames the tool: ‘this knife cuts like a spoon’! (meaning it was useless) I gave up with the knife idea and tackled the tie with a pair of scissors.
Although the box contained several different sized heads for creating effects such as calligraphy, stencilling, stamping, adding dots I chose to stick to the attachment that was already in position as I’d wasted enough time trying to get into the box without fathoming out how to get the attachment off.
I didn’t have to wait long for it to heat up.

Before starting on the mini biscuits and sweets (which I had already sketched out), I practised on a larger piece of wood and outlined a rooster, which I can later turn into a coaster 😉
While the paint was drying I started on the smaller items: each disc is just a bit larger than a polo mint. I again drew out the designs first and then applied the heat, avoiding pressing down too hard (which recreated sparks and smoke).

image The felt biscuits have been successfully selling in a local shop, so I’m hoping these wooden biscuit and sweet pendents plus key fobs will be equally or more popular.
I’m pleased with the outcome, but a second coat of colour awaits and a middle layer of ‘cream’ in the form of a piece of coloured felt to the Oreo, Iced Party Ring and the Jammy Dodgers.
imageimageimage

3 thoughts on “Drawing with Fire aka Pyrography

    1. It’s been great having a go at pyrography, although my wrist does ache from keeping the point where I needed it to burn the wood, especially on the smaller wooden items.

Leave a Reply

