Biro drawing

I’ve been a little distracted today with the arrival of our new kitten, however, I’ve been sifting through my journals and preparing a new one solely for illustration preliminary sketches and gathering of images and ideas. I’m writing a children’s picture book and using the tips found in a book I’ve bought called ‘Illustrating Children’s Books’ by Martin Ursell. Some of the first pieces of advice he gives is how to make mock-up books, dividing the pages and sketching out ideas without relying on observation. I’ve been doing this recently … doodling or drawing objects, animals, items from memory. It’s amazing how focused you become as you begin to ask yourself silly things such as which way does the pupil go – is it a slit or a dot? How many ‘toes’ does a frog have? How big is the head in contrast to the body? Does an octopus even have a visible mouth? How big are an elephant’s ears? These questions enable us as artists to experiment with charicatures and stylised cartoons. Pictures become simplified and even comic, yet the idea is to get the idea down as a point of reference.

I’ve just joined a Summer Journal group via Myfanwy Hart’s Be Creative Facebook Group – she’s also mentioned this on her blog. She will be issuing a series of journal prompts over the summer, which I’m really looking forward to – there’s a buzz in the group already!
There is still time to join in. Visit the blog to find out more about this exciting opportunity! http://myfanwyhart.com/2014/06/29/just-two-more-sleeps/

Today, I came across a drawing by one of my children from when they were at nursery. My 21 year old drew a cat where the head was separate to its body and it had enormous claws. Another of my children drew a striped tabby with a tiny head and large claws. I’m glad I kept them.

For now, here is another of my illustrations … All done in biro
image
As a source of reference, the little boy in the drawing is my son (who turns 18 next week) πŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “Biro drawing

Leave a Reply

