Covering curtain rings to make buttons

After exploring the museum at Shaftesbury at the top of Gold Hill, I thought I’d attempt to stitch a button. There were many tiny hand stitched buttons on display where the stitcher had used white or cream thread. The stitches were delicate and finely done to adorn pretty garments of the era.

I had some brass curtain rings in a drawer, so I started with one of these. I used some rainbow thread that I’d bought a while ago from a quilting store as I wanted it to be colourful, but also would cover the brass adequately.

I’m quite pleased with the results and have started a second one. The first was added to a birthday card I made for a work colleague.

20140709-223157.jpg

20140709-223213.jpg

20140709-223231.jpg

7 thoughts on “Covering curtain rings to make buttons

    1. Thank you :-). I just guessed how it should be and so didn’t follow a pattern. I made another last night with the intention of adding them to a random postcard!

Leave a comment