A try at calligraphy with a dipping pen

I’ve used a cartridge calligraphy pen with varying results both for drawing and writing recently. I finally managed to locate my dipping pen and bottle of ink and took to my journal (making use of the lined paper) and here is a sneak look at my efforts, including a sketch using the same pen … and a mini lino print of a spanner – just for fun!

20140820-224623-81983501.jpg

20140820-224623-81983187.jpg

20140820-224623-81983777.jpg
I can honestly say now that I prefer the dipping pen, although it was a bit trial an error with the ink blobbing on the page in large pools! Drawing was also easier and not so ‘scratchy’. I’m tired now, so will have another go tomorrow. As the saying goes … Practise makes perfect!

2 thoughts on “A try at calligraphy with a dipping pen

Leave a Reply

