Nano journey continues…

Just over 28,000 words and reconsidering the title of my draft novel. It’s definitely a journey and I’m encouraged by the fact my twelve-year-old daughter is inspired. She’s currently on chapter 30+ of a novel she’s writing using the Whatpad app. Her friends can log in and read what she posts daily and comment. They tell her how frustrating it is when she leaves the chapter on a cliffhanger! She’s learning fast. The only snag is she won’t let me read it until it’s finished (I’m hoping it’ll be complete for my birthday in December, but she tells me she has no idea how long it’s going to be).
I wrote my first ‘long’ story when I was ten. It was called Beno. I also began to write a long tale as part of English at school when I was in year 6. There was a number of us chosen in the class to write about an imaginary family. When I joined secondary school, my English teacher organised for me to meet the author, Jean Ure, who went on to read and comment on three chapters of a novel I was writing. I wonder if my youngest child is going to follow suit? She says she wants to be an author … So watch this space 🙂

Leave a Reply

