The Alphabet prompts

Yesterday saw the start of a series of new prompts through a Facebook group I belong to as part of an autumn journalling experience. I’m not going to showcase every single prompt here, but as the second letter of the alphabet was B and I was inspired, I thought I’d share with you what I chose to do. Apart from many other things …
B is for Bear.
I have started my Christmas shopping; selected my Secret Santa from a hat at work and visited a pub yesterday aptly named The Bear. It was this pub that inspired me to create a winter print and also (to add a couple of other words beginning with B) a picked up a bargain in a high street store before heading back home and tackling some more bag making on the old sewing machine!

20141102-230804-83284294.jpg
That’s five bags made for 15th November and some of these are made from fabric bought in Bolton!

20141102-230932-83372591.jpg
A winter Bear Gelli print for Christmas cards…

20141102-231036-83436278.jpg
A bargain book for £1 on machine embroidery…

More progress has also been made on my book – I’m participating in this for the fifth year – to write a draft novel of at least 50,000 words in the month of November

20141102-231300-83580291.jpg
I’ve just written 3,420 words (still a long way to go).
Now, I’m off to bed. Good night all you lovely bloggers 🙂

a November wedding: the spider and the butterfly

Today, November 1st, is the beginning of a cousin’s married life and the start of National Novel Writing Month.  This has meant that the crafts were put on hold today (unless you can class my photo as a craft or even my writing).

I managed it.   I managed to write 1,695 words on day one of NaNoWriMo.  At first, I was faced with a blank page and I thought I’d struggle to make a start on it, but it flowed.  Whether this is because I’ve been thinking about the 50000 word novel for a while, or because the house is quiet remains to be seen.

The day’s been interesting.  We travelled into the city for a family wedding (my husband’s cousin) and the forecast wasn’t that great, but the sun shone.  The little church has been the venue for several family members including my in-laws and they chose the same hymn as my husband and I had at our wedding.  According to my father-in-law, everyone has ‘Morning has broken’.  I’m not so sure.  There are so many hymns people can choose from, but some words just ‘stick’ don’t they:  ‘The blackbird has spoken, like the first bird’ (humming it now, can you tell?).  You don’t have to struggle to remember them and there’s no need to grasp a hymn book while trying to hold onto your fascinator during a winter wedding.

The church is pretty old; unusually it still has pews unlike many churches nowadays.  There’s a little arch that you have to walk through to get to the church and the aisle is so short that it’s possible to hold your breath for a minute and the father and bride have reached the front!

The church cobwebs were also noticeable.  At one point, the perfectly coiffured hair on the bridesmaid became the cobweb: my sister-in-law had to surreptitiously remove a spider happily crawling through the braiding.  The said spider returned, climbing up the bridesmaid’s back later on in the service while a tortoiseshell butterfly distracted everyone’s eyes away from the bride and groom coming back from signing the register.

The young bridesmaid and pageboy were my niece and nephew; they had more fun tossing the confetti rose petals on the floor that at the bride, but I did manage to take this photograph before the bride headed off to the reception.

DSCN5295 DSCN5327