31,129 words … Still going in the right direction

NaNoWriMo update: today is the day we’re able to validate our novel by uploading and verifying our word-count – can you believe some people have already gone passed the 50000 word mark and we still have ten days to go! I can’t verify mine until I’ve reached 50,000 words (so for now, you’ll just have to believe me). I have some catching up to do over the weekend with a surge of writing and flexing my typing fingers. In the meantime, I’ve saved it all and it’s stored on here

20141120-230042-82842252.jpg
and on my computer. I’m tempted to print it all out and see what that many words look like on paper! I can always remember when I owned a computer which had a floppy disc drive and the printer was a dot matrix (very noisy and to create bold type, it would ink over the page once then go over the text again!). Not only did it go through a lot of ink, there was not much else it could do apart from play ‘Snake’ and word process letters!
When my son was about eighteen months (he’s now 18 years) I was busy typing up letters to publishers and sending out submissions and manuscripts. While busy typing a new story, my son became very inquisitive and before I knew what had happened, he’d pressed the power button off and I lost pages and pages of creative writing. I could only hope that the second draft was better than the first! Thanks son!